Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I recently purchased a 2016 Ecoboost and after driving it for a month I noticed a misfire on cold start up (sometimes a rough idle) and no engine light on. I took it to a couple different shops for diagnosis (no warranty) and they all said they same: cylinder 4 misfire. fuel injector was leaking, and needed to be replaced, as well as replacing the plugs.

that was done. After a day or so I noticed the same misfire and now I noticed a loss of coolant.

has anyone experienced the same issue? Any thoughts?

·
Registered
295 Posts
I'm not a mechanic or an expert of any kind but if you are losing coolant and having misfires you probably have a bad headgasket or a cracked or warped head or both. That's a non expert guess. There are others on here who know WAY WAY more than I do.

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
I had the same problem with my turbocharged diesel with a 100k miles on it.
I packed the cooling system full of engine block sealant and drove it for another 17k miles (or 2 yrs) and then it let lose again. I took a $3500 hit, and traded it in on another turbo diesel.
It really depends on the condition and mileage of your Mustang. If my diesel was in better shape with low mileage, I would of fixed the problem.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I had the same problem with my turbocharged diesel with a 100k miles on it.
I packed the cooling system full of engine block sealant and drove it for another 17k miles (or 2 yrs) and then it let lose again. I took a $3500 hit, and traded it in on another turbo diesel.
It really depends on the condition and mileage of your Mustang. If my diesel was in better shape with low mileage, I would of fixed the problem.