Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all,

I am a mechanical engineering student who has a big love for cars. Like every major car enthusiast (and student) I lack the funds necessary to do a lot of my projects - but this doesn't mean I cant do anything. Right now I have a 2018 EcoBoost mustang with the following mods: CVF downpipe, street IC and charge pipes, an MBRP race exhaust, and a kompact shortie dual port BOV. I also have a tune and am making roughly 338 whp.

Lately, ive reaalllyyy wanted to slap a big turbo in there - but obviously there is a lot to think about. Pumps, injectors, oil, temps, pressures, sensors, etc. all need to be taken into account before doing a big mod like this. As an enthusiast who has taken classes like thermo, heat transfer, and fluid dynamics, I have the basic skills required to do an analysis on my car. I also have access to a TON of reading material through my university where I can get real quality information - these will be my primary reference sources. If you would like to follow along with this project (it will be long, complicated, hairy, and incredibly rewarding) please follow the form.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Currently, I have some of my big main questions asked - I really want to break down the 4 stroke engine cycle in my car and work backward from it - notice that I am looking specifically at torque. I will be calculating the torque in the 2000-3500 rpm range and then hp in the 5000-6000 range. All of this will be in intervals of 50 rpm and when I get to it, I will be utilizing some python and excel to make this go a bit quicker and make some nice looking graphs to post on here.

Main Questions: (in order of priority)
  • Will stock block need to be upgraded?
    • How much boost/torque/temp (IAT and EAT) can stock block handle?
    • How much torque can we make at 18-22 psi?