Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys idk if this is the right forum but i have a 2017 eco boost with clogged cats. I’m a noob to this so i’m confused lol. I’m just wondering if i put a cvfab catted down pipe in will that fix my issue or will i have to replace the cats as well? I really don’t want to buy new cats especially oem ones.

·
Administrator
3,757 Posts
The Ecoboost Mustang only has one catalytic converter, and it's part of the downpipe. If you replace the stock downpipe with a CVFab catted downpipe, you're replacing your stock cat with an aftermarket one...

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
Hi guys idk if this is the right forum but i have a 2017 eco boost with clogged cats. I’m a noob to this so i’m confused lol. I’m just wondering if i put a cvfab catted down pipe in will that fix my issue or will i have to replace the cats as well? I really don’t want to buy new cats especially oem ones.
I agree with zhent! But, what I don't know is, will the 200 (OEM is 400) cell "high flow" catalytic converter, pass the EPA regulations, in all 50 states?
Your also need an adapter for the downstream sensor.

·
Registered
3,055 Posts
I agree with zhent! But, what I don't know is, will the 200 (OEM is 400) cell "high flow" catalytic converter, pass the EPA regulations, in all 50 states?
Your also need an adapter for the downstream sensor.
No. I mean, just think about California. Its not happening. If your cat isn't cleaning well enough so that it trips a CEL, which is what the spacer is usually used for in hi-flow or uncatted setups....then you can pretty much guarantee that it isn't cleaning well enough for an emissions test in MOST states.

·
Registered
476 Posts