Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so i'm pretty much a noob here to the new turbo's and 4 cylinder engines and mods in general. So i was reading over the web that Cold Air Intakes are actually illegal in california because of smog and emission restrictions. Now, heres the thing, I'm going for the Airaid CAI or A JLT, i want to know if anyone has had any problems using CAIs in Cali or any issues with law enforcement in that matter. Any response would be great. Much thanks, this forum has been such a big help so far!

·
Registered
43 Posts
Well, I'm a rookie too but I'll give you my two cents. The only problem you may have is when you have to smog the car. Without a CARB sticker you would have to go back to stock. I'm going to wait a few more months and see if they do make them CARB legal before I buy one. If they don't then I will just have to swap it back in a few years when I get it smogged.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, I'm a rookie too but I'll give you my two cents. The only problem you may have is when you have to smog the car. Without a CARB sticker you would have to go back to stock. I'm going to wait a few more months and see if they do make them CARB legal before I buy one. If they don't then I will just have to swap it back in a few years when I get it smogged.
Yeah, our cars will not need a smog check for a few more years. But that's really the only issue huh? Just the smog check? Easy uninstall and install back when dealing with smog.? Sounds great, it might have been a stupid question to begin with but im new to this type of stuff and i appreciate the response Buzzman!

·
Registered
43 Posts