Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I already have the air aid tube and stock inbox with k&n filter. I got the gt350 intake from ford along with the pro cal. Should I install it or does the stock airbox work better

·
Registered
396 Posts
I already have the air aid tube and stock inbox with k&n filter. I got the gt350 intake from ford along with the pro cal. Should I install it or does the stock airbox work better
I am no expert but the latest Ford Performance tune comes with the K&N drop in filter vs. the 15-17 that came with the GT350 intake. I have also read that the stock air box or closed unit is better than an open air box.

Reactions: olubode08 and drazz

·
Registered
2,499 Posts
IMO, the GT350 box is a poor fit. On one hand, you have to cut the rubber boot, in order to fit it over the intake adapter on the bumper, thus killing your ability to 'vacuum' out the nose. And on the other, I found the open element nature of the CAI to take in a lot of engine heat. My IAT's skyrocketed and had a heck of a time recovering with throttle when I ran the GT350 bucket. I ended up replacing it with a 'closed' Airaid, and noted a marked iprovement in keeping IAT's down. I'd stick with the OEM box.

·
Registered
2018 Premium Fastback
57 Posts
I did a lot of "research" (forums, after market part dealers, ect...) before I upgraded my intake set up (mind you it's for my daily not a track car). The general consensus was always that aftermarket airboxes either do not improve performance, or reduce performance vs the factory box, airaid tube, and performance air filter. Given you have to cut the seal on the GT350 box I'd personally stick with what you have as you're not going to get a perfect fit and likely a performance reduction.

·
Premium Member
2,450 Posts
The problem with "open lid" aftermarket CAI's, is they use a conical pod filter.