Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone.

So I'm no powertrain expert, but I know many of you folks are. So maybe someone can set me straight. I appreciate it.

I really like to row through my gears. Most of the time, it feels like the power is delivered fairly quickly as I pass through the early gears. Sure, there's a slight lag, but once it kicks in, there's a acceleration curve that sets me back a bit in my seat.

But every once in a while, there's a lapse in 'pull'. Its like a dead spot in the acceleration curve, like the car forgets what its doing. It doesn't completely konk out. It just slips a little, then catches back onto the curve and continues.

I have no PT mods and religiously feed it Mobil 93 octane. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Matt

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply.

I'd say more sporadic than constant. I've noticed it mostly from 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd.

Temps this summer (Michigan) haven't been unreasonable. High 70s to high 80s mostly. Some 90s, but not often.

Matt

·
Registered
634 Posts
Stock, your car makes the lion's share of it's power between 3k-5k RPM. It's almost like a two stroke engine on a dirt bike but at the high end of your power band, the car will fall on its face with torque dropping off. When you say "sporadic" do you mean it randomly does this throughout the RPM range?

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi. Thanks for the reply. By sporadic, I mean it doesn't happen all the time. Sometimes I get a very clean pull through the gears.

·
Registered
639 Posts
Mine use to have an occasional gasp for air but since putting on the FPP tune I haven't had it. It was more of a throttle response or lack of at least that's how mine felt. But with the tune everything is more responsive. The only time it would do it was when I was running through the gears.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts