Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello guys, i have finally bought my childhood dream car 2017 Mustang ecoboost premium. Even though i like the engine sound, i want to make it louder in a nice way (not noisy) , like when i start up the car or when i speed up. I want to have a really nice sport engine sound not loud. As I’m not really an expert, i have been reading about exhaust, intake..etc. so what do you guys recomment for a nice and affordable ones ?

·
Registered
2,628 Posts
You can't really increase the sound of the Ecoboost engine itself, and the sound you do hear is 'piped' in artificially through the audio speakers anyway.
(Even the GT's pipe the sound into the cabin, but use a sound tube from the intake to the firewall).

You can however increase;

1. The exhaust note - By fitting a catback, turboback or axle-back aftermarket exhaust system.

2. Increase the air intake 'sucking' sound - By fitting a Cold Air Intake like a Roush, JLT, Airaid, etc.

3. Vent the Blow off Valve (BOV) to atmosphere for the 'peeeesh' sound as you come off boost - Either by disconnecting the outlet rubber hose on the BOV and capping the hose inlet on the intake, or installing a vacuumed operated aftermarket BOV, such as a Turbosmart one. (The stock BOV is electronic).

You could get a little more engine sound in the cabin, but only slightly, by removing the insulated noise absorbing pad under the hood.

·
Administrator
6,616 Posts
Reactions: ZStang

·
Registered
102 Posts
I have heard good things about the MBRP Race and Street. I heard the street has less drone which is what I will probably go with. You can find audio clips on Youtube.

·
Registered
102 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
No I didnt, this was the first exhaust I got. I may keep the downpipe and go to a Ford Performance this spring.