Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

My lifelong dream is coming true shortly but I feel like I'm in a conondrum.

I am buying a 2021 Ford Mustang convertible, but my issue is I am not sure if I go with the standard Ecoboost engine or upgrade to the HPP engine?

I spoke with my mechanic who is a car fanatic and he told me to do the upgrade, but I am not sure he understands my position. Money is not the concern,my concern are these two things:

A) Do I upgrade just to have the power as I grow with the car, as this is my first sports car ever

B) or is the ecoboost standard engine sufficient for what I need it for? (Daily driving, maybe opening her up for some fun)

I am not a youngster (57 to be exact) and this is my dream come true car and I will be using it as a daily driver, I'm not going to a track,or at least I don't think so, lol) a car to have fun in and travel with my wife .I am watching too many reviews and reading to many articles where many people say the standard engine hits a point where the power drops and it's better to spend for the uprade HPP.

I'm not sure what these people are doing with the cars all the time, but with everything I have mentioned, would the base engine be sufficient for myself?

Any help, thoughts and opinions appreciated!

·
Registered
84 Posts
Drive both and decide. I have the base Ecoboost and it is plenty powerful.

Don

·
Registered
916 Posts
I’m quite happy with my stock power. It depends what you are buying the car for. I wanted a comfortable cruiser, hence, I went Premium with the 201A package and the safe and smart package. Only you can decide, since it will be your butt in the driver’s seat. If you are planning on touring the car with your significant other, they may not like the stiffer ride of the HPP that comes with the lower profile tires and stiffer suspension (although you could mitigate that with the magnaride).

·
Registered
421 Posts