Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total Ecoboost noob here (still have temp plates) but already threw the Roush intake on the car.
Great sound while accelerating and release but the sound actually seems to be the intake sucking out power.

At 50% throttle it feels fine but mashing it down, even for a few seconds, the car doesn't feel like it's pulling like it was with the stock intake.

Anyone have this setup and experience the same thing? I'm actually thinking of returning it to AM and getting a tuner instead.

Also, glad to join the Ecoboost club!

·
Super Moderator
6,130 Posts
There are many people who say (and have some data to back it up) that the stock box with a high flow filter (maybe changing the intake tube) has the best flow.

A couple of questions:
Was the Roush on it when you bought it? How long has it actually been on? as in miles.
Are you running 93 Octane fuel?

This car has been the most sensitive to fuel/octane of any I have ever owned. Without good fuel, the "brain" will pull timing, you'll see misfires, etc if you're monitoring parameters and you WILL notice the lack of performance.

It will take time for the car to learn the different airflow with the Roush intake.

Here's my suggestion. Run it with good gas for a couple of weeks (several hundred miles). Resist the urge to make any other changes, if it still feels boggy, swap the stock one back in and (using the same fuel) see if there is a difference. That would make up your mind about returning it.

Welcome to the madness!

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Squid! Thanks for all the info!
There are many people who say (and have some data to back it up) that the stock box with a high flow filter (maybe changing the intake tube) has the best flow.
I've heard this too, and also that CAIs don't have as much effect in "cold air" because it gets compressed by the turbo in which the intercooler becomes important