Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been driving my 2017 ecoboost for about 5 months on 87 octane but I’ve been hearing that I should try using 93 octane to get more power. Is it worth it? Would I need a tune like you do with E85?

·
Registered
1,562 Posts
The owners manual says you can run as low as 87 octaine gas. The factory calibration has an octaine learning feature that will adjust to whatever octaine gas you fill the car with automatically. There is no need to run the tank dry unless you flash a tune that is specific to 93 pump only.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The owners manual says you can run as low as 87 octaine gas. The factory calibration has an octaine learning feature that will adjust to whatever octaine gas you fill the car with automatically. There is no need to run the tank dry unless you flash a tune that is specific to 93 pump only.
Perfect, Thanks!

·
Registered
916 Posts
LOL, I'm thinking of going the other way if/when I have to return to the office and go back to a regular commute. 87 is currently CDN$1.45/litre (~US$4.41/US gallon). 91 is significantly more, something around US$5.31/US gallon.

·
Registered
405 Posts
Here, 93 is $3.30 or so at Costco. A tank will last the Mustang a month, perhaps more depending on the weather. My Explorer goes about 18 days on a fuel-up.

Reactions: Coyote Chaser

·
Registered
331 Posts
I got mine from the dealer I assumed they put 87 in it, after a couple of fill ups with 93 I could tell the difference.

·
Registered
405 Posts
I switched from 87 to 91 and more than made up the difference in price in increased mileage. Plus, the car is more fun to drive without the computer constantly pulling timing and boost on the 87.