Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
859 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Ecoboost is almost at 30k miles and I have been running the COBB Stage 1 93 Octane tune for about 4 months. I noticed some rougher running and a little hesitation on occasion and decided to replace the plugs. After much research, I decided to order the TUNE + pregapped NGK plugs for our cars. Since I try to do all the work on my cars myself, I installed the plugs today. Not a hard job at all. The original plugs had normal wear for 30k, so no issues there at all.

After the install, fired right up and seemed to idle much smoother. I will update on the effects on MPG and Power later. These are the recommended plugs for future tuning from TUNE +.

Reactions: LostSAAB

·
Super Moderator
3,294 Posts
I've been running them for about 5000 miles. They've been great.

Reactions: ZStang

·
Registered
859 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I think changing the plugs every 30k is a good idea with the Ecoboost. Even more with a tuned car, cheap insurance. Just as going Amsoil full synthetic is also. Since I love to do some high speed runs and having fun embarrassing V8's, a higher maintenance schedule is a must if I want the car to run flawlessly for years.

Reactions: zhent

·
Registered
859 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Checked the gap on the original plugs and they varied between .032 and .034. That is nowhere near what they should be. Glad I changed them.

·
Banned
746 Posts
I think changing the plugs every 30k is a good idea with the Ecoboost. Even more with a tuned car, cheap insurance. Just as going Amsoil full synthetic is also. Since I love to do some high speed runs and having fun embarrassing V8's, a higher maintenance schedule is a must if I want the car to run flawlessly for years.
Embarrassing V8's? ....Surprising them, maybe.

·
Registered
859 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
278 Posts