Ford Mustang Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. First post here. I have a 2019 fully loaded Ecoboost Mustang. I am totally happy with it as is, but my partner got me curious about modding it to be even better. I have a 6 year original warranty, and do not want to invalidate that. My first question is, what mods can I do to boost performance without invalidating the warranty?

I am kind of new to modding, but not lacking the ability. From what I have learned, I want to upgrade the intercooler, add a cold air intake, and get a tuner thingy. Is it even possible to do any of these things without invalidating the warranty? I searched the web, and can't find a satisfactory answer. Thanks! I will definitely have more questions depending on if I can even start modding.

·
Registered
1,810 Posts
The factory warranty is 3 years bumper to bumper and another 2 years for the powertrain after that. You're on the right track with the mods. Intercooler and tune is a good start. In terms of voiding the warranty, the Moss Magnusson act offers some protection in asking that the manufacturer be able to prove your mod created the problem. However, the issue with tuning your ECU, is that so many CEL's can be easily attributed to the one calibration that controls all things in the powertrain like timing, ignition, fuel, etc. So, usually, when you flash or tune your car...your kissing your warranty goodbye and treading into "on your own" land. But again, it is still up to the dealer to give you a fair shake. So if for instance, you tune your car, but your air conditioning breaks, well...there should still be NO reason that the dealer doesn't fix your AC. I hope that's a decent example to get my point across. In terms of the Eco Mustang, you should check out the Ford Performance calibration as they offer you a 3 year warranty with it. That's what I tuned mine with due to these same concerns.

·
Registered
3 Posts